Ohio Timeline

1795 - Treaty of Greenville signed, essentially ending the Ohio Indian Wars

1800 - Chillicothe became the capitol of the Northwest Territory.

1812 - City of Columbus founded and named as the new state capitol.

1812 - 1814 - The War of 1812

1813 - British failure at both Sieges of Fort Meigs prevented them from driving their forces deeper into Ohio

1813 - Oliver Perry commander of the American fleet defeated the British fleet at the Battle of Lake Erie

1816 - State government relocated to Columbus

1825 - Work on the National Road and canal system in Ohio began

1833 - The Ohio and Erie Canal completed

1835 - Boundary dispute between Michigan and Ohio led to the Toledo War

1840 - Ohioan William Henry Harrison elected the 9th President of the United States

1842 - Treaty with the Wyandots (1842)